OPM Domination at the 28th Awit Awards

Surrounding myself with great Filipino artists, being in the circle of the industry I love and receiving ample amount of responses online from all the hard day’s work is an award itself and that so called “kababawan” all at the same time. Indeed, another awesome music experience. Shown in the picture is the Facebook campaign I did for Music Museum, official photos HERE.28th-Awit-Awards-Collage-2015-copy

I am happy about Johnoy Danao for bagging two awards for two songs among his pool of original songs from the album “Samu’t Sari.” I am wishing for his next release now, surely that’s another compelling one. “Salubong” won Best World Music Recording, video below by BalutRadio. More about Johnoy Danao’s “Samu’t Sari” album HERE.

I have this great belief in all that he has shared in his songs along with the other new songs that has been honored last night including PhilPop entries “Salbadida,” Dear Heart,” and “Torpe.” Nagkakaroon ng kahulugan ang bawat blog post na pinaggugugulan ng panahon upang makatulong sa pagpromote ng musikang Pilipino. Videos below by UniversalRecPH.

Jungee Marcelo won for songs that are performed by Kyla. I love how admirable he is with all the good vibes shown upon his acceptance of the awards. More about Kyla’s “Journey” album HERE.

One of the most popular kid in town, The Voice Kids runner-up Darren Espanto, won 2 awards for Best Album Package and Best Performance by a New Male Recording Artist with the song “In Love Na Ako Sa’yo.” Check out our Q&A with Darren Espanto HERE.

The truth is, it’s not just about the awards. It’s about how these songs have influenced and change our daily lives. It’s about how these artists have given a piece of themselves just to produce relatable, melodious and desirable songs.

They deserve to be heard on the radio and in all the platforms available today. Sulit ang lahat ng puyat, pagod sa traffic at gastos para lang mapanood at mapakinggan ang bawat pagtatanghal nang live ng mga kantang ito. The support from each and every one of us is needed, be it small or in any way we can. Ang OPM, panalo. Ang Pilipino, panalo!

The show’s a bit delayed but it’s all worth it knowing that three of the top female artists of this generation won top awards: Best Selling Album for “Deeper” by Julie Anne San Jose, Song of the Year for “Ikaw” by Yeng Constantino and Album of the Year for “Perfectly Imperfect” by Sarah Geronimo. They really put meaning to “girl power.” Karylle, Yeng Constantino and Christian Bautista hosted the prestigious ceremony at the Music Museum. Video courtesy of by Rover Arcilla, ABS-CBN Starmusic and vivamusicgroup1, respectively.

Pinoy rock band The Dawn was also awarded the Dangal ng Musikang Pilipino Award for their music achievements and merits over the years. It is evident from the testimonies of Pinoy music icons Lea Salonga, Mr. C, Lourd de Veyra, Kevin Roy and Top Suzara presented in a video shown at the awarding ceremony.

Also, awarded for special citations are Jamie Rivera for the song “We Are All God’s Children” and Ronnie Ricketts for his efforts as OMB Chairman in ensuring the promotion and protection of Intellectual Property Rights of OPM. Jamie Rivera’s We Are All God’s Children official music video is courtesy of ABS-CBN Starmusic.

Here are the complete list of winners:

Album of the Year
Perfectly Imperfect – Sarah Geronimo

Song of the Year
Ikaw – Yeng Constantino

Music Video of the Year
Out of Control – Pupil

Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist
Never Knew Love (Until I Met You) – Janice Javier

Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist
Buntong Hininga – Johnoy Danao

Best Collaboration
May Bukas Pa – Lani Misalucha ft Angeline Quinto, KZ Tandingan & Yeng Constantino

Best Performance by a Group of Recording Artists
Krismas Na – Koro Ilustrado

Best Performance by a New Female Recording Artist
Dear Heart – Kiana Valenciano

Best Performance by a New Male Recording Artist
In Love Na Ako Sa’yo – Darren Espanto

Best Performance by a New Group Recording Artists
Paano – Innervoices

Best Performance by a Child/Children
Narito Ako – Lyca Gairanod

Best Selling Album of the Year Award
Deeper – Julie Anne San Jose

Best Ballad Recording
Mahal Ko o Mahal Ako – KZ Tandingan

Best Rock/Alternative Recording
Salbabida – Kyla, Jungee Marcelo

Best World Music Recording
Salubong – Johnoy Danao

Best Dance Recording
Dyosa – Yumi Lacsamana

Best Inspirational/Religious Recording
Ipagpatuloy Mo, Galing ng Pilipino – Gary Valenciano

Best Rap Recording
Dedma – Abra & Julie Anne San Jose

Best Jazz Recording
Hindi Magbabago – Arthur Manuntag

Best R&B Recording
Torpe – Kris Lawrence

Best Regional Recording
Usahay – Pilita Corales ft Chad Borja

Best Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage Play
Ipagpatuloy Mo, Galing ng Pilipino – Gary Valenciano (TFC 20th Anniversary)

Best Album Package
Darren Espanto

Kudos to all the 28th Awit Awards winners!

Enjoys capturing, editing, and sharing content across social media platforms alongside music photography. The birth of this blog is a testament of my credence on the power of images in conveying stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *